English Legends make the cut

Steven Gerrard and David Beckham are the latest and final 2021 entries into the Premier League hall of fame. They join Manchester United pair Eric Cantona and Roy Keane, Arsenal duo Thierry Henry and Dennis Bergkamp, Premier League top goalscorer Alan Shearer, and midfield innovator Frank Lampard as those to be inducted as part of the scheme’s maiden year.

265 appearances
62 goals
80 assists
6 Premier League titles

David Beckham is inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame 7⃣ pic.twitter.com/glQlfKjbDO

— B/R Football (@brfootball) May 20, 2021

David Beckham’s Manchester United career, which shot into the headlines following a famous halfway line goal against AFC Wimbledon in 1996, was nothing short of glittering. Winning six Premier Leagues, two FA cups and one Champions League, he was a huge part of United’s success under Sir Alex Ferguson throughout this period. The Englishman provided 62 goals and 80 assists, and went on to represent his country on 115 occasions, a record feat for an outfielder only later beaten by ex-teammate Wayne Rooney a decade later.

Wishing a very merry ‘Beckham from the Selhurst Park halfway line’ day to every one of you.pic.twitter.com/Q7SrNEQhfQ

— The Blizzard (@blzzrd) August 17, 2020

Just behind him on the England caps list with 114 sits Steven Gerrard. Another icon of the Premier League era, he is the first player to be admitted to the Hall of Fame not to have won a title, beating out the much more decorated John Terry, Nemanja Vidic and Patrick Vieira to 2021’s final spot.

Although he never won the Premier League, famously slipping to let Demba Ba score in a 2013/14 game against Chelsea (which effectively ended his last shot at the title), Gerrard’s legacy as both a Liverpool and Premier League legend is solidified. The English midfielder holds the record for most appearances in the PFA team of the year, having been selected a mammoth eight times across his 17-year career with the Merseyside club.

Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard is the latest player inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame

— Sky Sports News (@SkySportsNews) May 20, 2021

Gerrard was a huge part of Liverpool’s side as they picked up two FA Cups, three League Cups and a Champions League trophy, with the Englishman anchoring in midfield. After finally hanging up his boots in 2015, Gerrard may never truly get the recognition that he deserves, but is certainly worthy of a place in the Hall of Fame.


Steven Gerrard deservedly takes his place in the #PLHallOfFame

So proud of you, Stevie pic.twitter.com/QM10M8Tmlp

— Liverpool FC (@LFC) May 20, 2021

What is the Premier League Hall of Fame?

The Premier League Hall of Fame “recognises and honours former players who have an exceptional record of on-pitch success and have shown significant contribution to the League since its inception in 1992”.

In order to qualify, players must have been retired by August 1, 2020. Voting will open for further entrants in 2022, although the number to be admitted is not yet known.


Read more:

Thierry Henry hinted to be the Premier League’s first official Hall of Fame entry

Dennis Bergkamp and Frank Lampard the latest entries into Premier League Hall of Fame


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here